Would you like to Help DASNM?


Click here amazon and buy something from Amazon.


Click below and donate to help DASMN.

Thank you for your support.

The 5 Stages of Grief



The 5 Stages of Grief – Denial, Bargaining, Anger, Depression and Acceptance – were first introduced by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross to describe a process which many people go through when dealing with a significant tragedy or loss.


The 5 Stages of Grief are:524063_327108844044851_730525170_n  MEV

  1. Denial
  2. Bargaining
  3. Anger
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

With divorce in a way, we face a death – death of the dream of our future home and the expectation of being loved the way we deserve by the one we thought was closest to us.

Learning to Cope with Grief:

Grief is a consequence of loss and much as we want to we often find that we can’t go over it, can’t go under it, can’t go around it and have to go through it.


It’s OK to mourn. Think about the way it should have been, could have been, and might have been. Write it down.

What dreams did you sacrifice? What pain did you swallow? Mourning is the time to cry. And when you are done, if you want to, cry again.

Talk to a safe group of friends about it. Tell somebody what happened. Get it off your chest. Why was it wrong? What happened? How in the world did you put up with that for so long? Take a load off! Tell someone your story.

There are lots of people here at Out of the FOG who have been there, who are still there – who are trying to find the courage to say: “I hurt!”, “That was wrong!”, “It didn’t have to be that way!”, “I deserve better!” Somehow we feel stronger when we hear from others who have faced or are facing the same struggles as ourselves.

What NOT to do:

  • Don’t be ashamed of your grief. It is something that makes us all very human.
  • Don’t be ashamed to admit your grief to others or to seek assistance.
  • Don’t believe that you will always feel this way. The only thing that stays constant is change.
  • Don’t isolate yourself or cut yourself off from people who really care about you.
  • Don’t pressure yourself to snap out of it. Celebrate who you really are.

What TO do:

  • Remember that the person you are today is no less valuable than the person you were on your greatest day.
  • Remember that grief is a process which takes time.
  • Be good to yourself – give yourself something every day that you will look forward to.
  • Get help and support from people who understand what you are going through and who care about you.

MEV  visit our FB page at My Emotional Vampire



Would you like to support DASNM?  If so, it is easy, visit our store and make a purchase or use this link  Amazon Purchases in support of DASNM.com  A small percentage of the amount you order will be sent to DASNM.  Thank you for your support.   —   Tasher


Originally posted 2013-01-27 06:38:43. Republished by Blog Post Promoter

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *